SLB Legacy Keynote Lecture Award

The SLB Legacy Keynote Lecture award is presented annually to a society of Leukocyte Biology member for excellence in leukocyte biology research. It is the highest honor the society can bestow upon one of its members and has been awarded annually since 1980. The council is provided with biographies of the nominees and votes annually to select individuals for the award. Council is asked to consider the nominee's impact and contribution to the field of leukocyte biology in the research and publications. The award winner must be a highly respected member in the field, and will be invited to give the keynote lecture at the annual meeting, write a free-of-charge Legacy Award Review article for publication in JLB, as well as to contribute to the newsletter. The award winner will be recognized in the form of complimentary meeting registration, travel and accommodation for the meeting, as well as a $1,000 stipend.

Please join us in congratulating Alfred Ayala for being named the 2024 Legacy Awardee!  Learn more about Al...

Previous Award Winners:
Gustavo Cudkowicz (1980) Zanvil A. Cohn (1991) John Gallin (2002) Phil Murphy (2013)
John B. Hibbs (1981) Monte S. Meltzer (1992) Siamon Gordon (2003) Ira Tabas (2014)
Isaiah Fidler (1982) Ralph Snyderman (1993) Stefanie N, Vogel (2004) Gail Bishop (2015)
Peter M. Henson (1983) Barry R. Bloom (1994) F. Allan Sher (2005) William Nauseef (2016)
Samual C. Silverstein (1984) Timothy A. Springer (1995) Robert Coffman (2006) Marco A. Cassatella (2017)*
Seymour J. Klebanoff (1985) Ralph M. Steinman (1996) Sharon Wahl (2007) Mary Dinauer (2018)**
Emil Unanue (1986) Carl F. Nathan (1997) Klaus Ley (2008) Ann Richmond (2019)
Joost J. Oppenheim (1987) Robert D. Schreiber (1998) Peter Ward (2009) Cash McCall (2021)
Marco Baggiolini (1988) Margaret L. Kripke (1999)  Charles N. Serhan (2010) Robert Clark (2022)
E. Richard Stanley (1989) Alberto Mantovani (2000) David Hume (2011)  Andrea Tenner (2023)
Robert J. North (1990) G. Jeanette Thorbecke (2001)

Charles Dinarello (2012)

 Alfred Ayala (2024)


Note: The 2017 award and years prior were corporate sponsored. Beginning in 2018, the award is sponsored by the society.
* 2017 was the final Bonazinga award title
** 2018 was the first Legacy award title