SLB Presidential Award

The SLB Presidential Awards will be divided into two categories, one for junior faculty and postdoctoral scholars, and another for students. The former award, for those in the postdoc category, will be given to a trainee who is less than 6 years since terminal degree, is a member of the Society, and has not been awarded a tenured faculty position at the time of submission of the application. The latter will be for students who are currently Society members and who have not yet received their terminal degree (i.e. currently graduate students). Three finalists for the awards will be chosen based on submitted abstracts for the Annual Meeting and accomplishments to date. The finalists will compete for the awards by giving oral presentations at the Annual Meeting. Finalists will be judged on their oral presentation as well as their ability to answer questions about their work. All finalists will be granted travel awards in addition to award stipends. Funds for these awards are provided by the Society for Leukocyte Biology.

The 2019 award submission period has ended. Check back in 2020 for new opportunities.

2019 SLB Presidential Finalists

learn more about the finalists

Student Category
Alan Hsu, Purdue University
Albert Sek, NIAID, NIH
Suhas Sureshchandra, Uni. of California Irvine
Junior Faculty/Post-Doc Category
Wendy Fonseca, University of Michigan
Charlotte Jouvene, Harvard Medical School
Julie Ng, Brigham and Women's Hospital