

Gail A. Bishop earned a PhD in Cellular & Molecular Biology from The University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, followed by postdoctoral research at The University of North Carolina in Chapel Hill. Starting in her postdoctoral fellowship, she developed a career-long interest in the molecular mechanisms by which B and T lymphocytes interact, particularly the signals they deliver to one another. This led her to study how the costimulatory molecule CD40 signals, when she first established her independent laboratory at The University of Iowa, where she is now the Holden Chair of Cancer Biology, Associate Director for Basic Research at the Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center, and Director of the Center for Immunology & Immune-Based Diseases. Learning how CD40 signals

sparked her interest in the TNF Receptor Associated Factor (TRAF) adapter proteins, which she has studied since, with a focus upon their functions in B and T lymphocytes. Her work resulted in a particular interest in the then-understudied TRAF3 molecule, leading her lab to produce the first conditionally-deleted *Traf3* mouse; this mouse has led to numerous insights about the context and cell-specific functions of TRAF3 in B and T lymphocytes.

Dr. Bishop's research has been supported by the NIH and VA since 1990, as well as several other external sources. She has a strong interest in teaching and mentoring, leading an interdisciplinary graduate program in Immunology for 15 years, directing a predoctoral T32 for 25 years, and developing several new courses for graduate students. She has mentored 22 graduate students and 17 postdoctoral fellows, and published 132 peer-reviewed plus 45 invited papers. She served as President of the American Association of Immunologists 2013-2014, and is a Distinguished Fellow of the AAI, as well as a Fellow of the AAAS. Dr. Bishop is a current member of the Council of the International Union of Immunological Societies. She has been an SLB member since 2006, serving as a JLB Section Editor and a member and Chair of the SLB Publications Committee. In 2015 she received the SLB Bonazinga Award.